Nine Flags

Today, the city of Nacogdoches flies nine flags to represent the countries that staked claims and the movements to establish a Republic of Texas, which have transformed the city throughout its history:

Spanish, French, Mexican, The Gutierrez-Magee Republic (1812), The Long Republic (1819), The Fredonia Republic (1826), The Lone Star, The Confederate and The United States.

Photo: The nine flags of Nacogdoches, Texas, are on display at Eugenia Sterne Park, at the corner of Main St. and Lanana St., in the National Historic District downtown. (Photo: Bruce R. Partain)

© Copyright 2005-2017 Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce. All rights reserved.
2516 North St., Nacogdoches, Texas 75965 (936) 560-5533
Unless otherwise noted, no part of this website may be reproduced without written permission.
Email us with questions or comments.