The Chamber History Visit Move Retire Education Medical Calendar Business Directory
Citizen of the Year Awards

Citizen of the Year Awards honor individuals who have made exceptional and sustained contributions for the betterment of our community as a whole. Named each year by the Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce Board of Directors and honored at the Annual Meeting and Membership Banquet, these honorees possess outstanding personal characteristics, including honesty, sincerity, integrity and benevolence.

Citizen of the Year

2018    Judy A. Abbott, Ph.D.

2017    Barbara and Richard DeWitt

2016    Charlotte and Gary Lee Ashcraft

2015    Grace Handler

2014    Ed Pool

2013    Dr. Roger Van Horn

2012    Sgt. Greg Sowell

2011    Drs. Baker and Janice Pattillo

2010    Dr. Archie McDonald

2009    Dr. Patsy Hallman

2008    Dr. Frances E. Abernethy  

2007    Margie Tipton

2006    Roy Blake, Jr.

2005    Bryant Krenek

2004    Tom and Peggy Wright

2003    Sheriff Thomas Kerss and Judge Sue Kennedy

2002    Dr. Leon Hallman

2001    Norman Johnson

2000    Robin Dawley

1999    Dottie Mallory 

1998    Steve Whitbeck, Holly Musick and Scott Ingalls 

1997    Sammie Russell

1996    Nancy Speck Mangham

1995    Judy McDonald

1994    Mike Aikin

1993    Joe Max Green, Ed Cole and A.T. Mast

1992    Betty Shinn

1991    C.L. Simon

1990    Bob Murphey

1989    Sydney Abegg

1988    Gladys M. Hampton

1987    Roy Blake, Sr.

1986    Ed and Gwen Cole

1985    Joyce Swearingen

1984    A.L. Mangham

1983    Mack Stripling

1982    Victor Fain

1981    Bruce Bates

1980    Jim Alders and M.C. Roebuck

1979    Dr. Ralph Steen

© Copyright 2005-2019 Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce. All rights reserved.
2516 North St., Nacogdoches, Texas 75965 (936) 560-5533
Unless otherwise noted, no part of this website may be reproduced without written permission.
Email us with questions or comments.