The Chamber History Visit Move Retire Education Medical Calendar Business Directory
Contest results from the tastiest festival in Texas
Posted 06 - 13 - 2011

Contest results from the tastiest festival in Texas

Thousands of people lined the brick streets of downtown Nacogdoches for the 22nd annual Texas Blueberry Festival presented by Brookshire Brothers. More than 13,000 lbs. of blueberries were sold and festival-goers enjoyed sweet blueberry treats, watched live entertainment and beat the Texas heat with ice-cold water and a wet bounce park.

Dozens of contests were held, with everything from bragging rights for the best pie in town, to the hottest hot rod on the streets at stake.

The first ever Running of the Blueberries 5K benefiting Dog Park Nacogdoches kicked off the festival, as more than 20 four-legged friends and 173 walkers and runners made the trek through the trails of Nacogdoches. The top ten overall finishers were: Blake Fancher, first place, 17m 42s; Will Young, second place, 17m 45s; R.J. Burris, third place, 19m 7s; Blake Kemp, fourth place, 19m 54s; Armando Bocanegra, fifth place, 20m 2s; Courtney McShane, sixth place, 20m 7s; Daniel Morgan, seventh place, 20m 11s; Kendall Whitbeck, eighth place, 20m 19s; Scott Harris, ninth place, 20m 25s; and Jon Bates, tenth place, 21m 4s. McShane, Erin Moore, 20m 7s, and Jenna Meyer, 23m 52s, rounded out the top three in the women's category. The dog who took first place honors was Hank and his owner Wes McKnight.

The winners of the Blue Threads Costume Contest were: first place, "Pint-size Farmers," Kyra Blackmon and Corbyn King; second place, "Blueberry Lovers," Lily, Loiusa, Maria and Emma Miner; and third place, "Blueberry Fairy Princess," Abigail Strange.

The winners of the True Blue Pet Parade, the cutest contest at the Texas Blueberry Festival, were: in the Cutest Small Pet category, first place, Barney, owner Becky Grimes; second place, Gracie, owner Amber Martin; and third place, Sunday Belle, owner Emily Boyland. In the Cutest Large Pet category, first place, Bailey, owner Jessica Colonetta; and second place, Molly, owner Sierra Zeringue. In the Blueberriest Pet category, first place, Gracie, owner Garner Rodrigues; second place, Dixie, owner Chachi; and third place, Molly, owner Sarah Bennett.

The winners of the Ice Cream and Cobbler Contests were: In the cobbler category: first place, Tina Kennedy; second place, Sarah Newsom, and third place, Travis Jowell. In the ice cream category: first place, Susannah Newsom, and tied for second place, Mary Jane Grant and Tina Kennedy.

The winners of the Brookshire Brothers Blueberry Pie Contest were: first place, Brenda Grimmett; second place, Phoebe Weaver; and third place, Achaia Martin.

Storytellers of all ages did their best Bob Murphey-style interpretations and told the tallest of Texas tales at the Bob Murphey Storytelling Contest. In the children's category, Alex Hartley took first place. In the adult category the winners were Bill Hanson, first place; Ken Wood, second place; and Sharon Rulfskerr, third place.

Jim and Dina Winters’ 1923 Model T took best of show honors at the Deja Blue Classic Car Show. Dozens of unique hot rods and antique cars were awarded. The winners were: Best Street Rod-car, Brian Nabbs, 1939 Chevy sedan; Best Resto Rod-Car, Gary Truchelut, 1954 Handyman Chevy Wagon; Best Rat Rod, George Scogin, 1930 Ford pickup; Best Model A, Charlie Haas, 1930 Model A; Best Model T, Jim and Dina Winters, 1923 Model T; Best Pre World War II Vehicle, Ennis Love, 1934 Ford two-door sedan; Best 1940’s Vehicle, Perry Honea, 1940 Ford coupe; Best 1950’s Vehicle, Sherry Stevens, 1950 Oldsmobile; Best 1960’s Vehicle, David Riley, 1960 Plymouth; Best 1970’s Vehicle, Pat David1978 Pontiac Bonneville; Best Muscle Car, Paul Pruett, 1970 Plymouth Barracuda; Best Camaro, Randall Dew, 1967 Chevy Camaro; Best Corvette, Paul Pruett 1964 Corvette; Best Mustang, Robert Cowser, 1966 Mustang; Best Mopar, Martha Wankan, 1966 Dodge Coronet; Best Military or 4x4, Billie Tollett; 1961 Willy’s Jeep; Best Pre-fab or Kit Car, Kenneth Leach, 1965 Ford Cobra; Best Import, Eric Shafer, 1990 Ferrari; Most Unusual or Rare Vehicle, Corbet Baker, 1984 Excalibur; Best Pickup, Steve Tracy, 1946 Chevy pickup; Best Truck or SUV, Jory Muckelroy, 1972 Chevy Blazer; Best Open Car, Julian and Jill Ornelas, 1965 Mustang; and Best Paint, Brian Nabbs, 1939 Chevy sedan.

Five contests were held in two separate age categories for the Blue Pies Smilin’ at Me Pie Eating Contest. In the 12 and under category, first place winners were Abigail Davis, Nelson Klein and Karmin Gentry; second place winners were Leslie Hollie, Ariel Patterson and Alex Gentry; and third place winners were Kenzie Bush and Rett Moorman. In the 12 and over category, the first place winners were Andrew Hoffart and Jerry Kerr; second place winners were Jerry Kerr and J.J. Gentry; and the third place winner was Jimmy Turner, III.

Results from the Blue Washer Board Tournament were: first place, Joseph Ramirez and Jacob Best; second place, Jerry Hemphill and Octavio Rangle.

Results from the Paul Kendrick Memorial 42 Tournament: Friday night winners, Sheila Rutherford and Charles Putegnat, first place; Terry Pogue and Jody Badum, second place; and Monte Ramsey and Doug Counts, third place. Saturday’s winners were Tom Holloway and Jeanette Bray, first place; Jody Badum and Terry Pogue, second place; Jon Nirens and David Carruth, third place; and Mac Sanford and Lee McIntyre, fourth place.

View More
© Copyright 2005-2018 Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce. All rights reserved.
2516 North St., Nacogdoches, Texas 75965 (936) 560-5533
Unless otherwise noted, no part of this website may be reproduced without written permission.
Email us with questions or comments.