The Chamber History Visit Move Retire Education Medical Calendar Business Directory
Nacogdoches Main Street receives national recognition
Posted 11 - 15 - 2010

The Texas Historical Commission (THC) and the National Trust for Historic Preservation recently recognized Nacogdoches as one of the 52 National Main Street Cities in Texas. Other 2011 National Main Street Cities, which represent the real places of Texas, include: Amarillo, Bastrop, Bay City, Beaumont, Brenham, Canton, Canyon, Carthage, Celina, Clifton, Comanche, Cotulla, Denton, Elgin, Farmersville, Gainesville, Georgetown, Goliad, Gonzales, Grapevine, Greenville, Harlingen, Henderson, Hillsboro, Huntsville, Kilgore, La Grange, Laredo, Levelland, Livingston, Llano, Longview, Lufkin, Luling, McKinney, Mineola, Mount Pleasant, Mount Vernon, New Braunfels, Odessa, Plainview, Rockwall, Royse City, San Angelo, San Marcos, Seguin, Sonora, Taylor, Tyler, Waxahachie and Weatherford.

“In 2011, the Texas Main Street Program celebrates its 30th anniversary and that means we have not only newer programs but also many cities whose Main Street programs have stood the test of time. This recognition honors the many partners of Main Street in each community as well as the progress each program has made. Whether recently designated or long-time programs, year to year, the hard work of the many community members involved in the Main Street process pays off. Through a focus on preserving their authentic historic downtowns, the whole community benefits.” said Debra Farst, state coordinator of the Texas Main Street Program.

The cities were honored at the recent Texas Downtown Association/Texas Main Street Conference in El Paso. The 2011 Conference will be in Nacogdoches, November 1-4, 2011. “We are so excited to be hosting this prestigious group in Texas’ Oldest Town Next Fall,” said Main Street Manager Sarah O’Brien. The National Trust for Historic Preservation’s National Main Street Center will also honor these cities at the 2011 National Main Streets Conference to be held in Des Moines, Iowa in May.


Cities chosen as National Main Street Cities must show above average performance in 10 categories. The selection criteria focus on planning, staff and volunteers, preservation ethic, training and program assessment. For additional information, visit the National Main Street web site at and the National Trust for Historic Preservation web site at

For more information on the Texas Historical Commission’s Main Street program visit

The THC’s Texas Main Street Program is a revitalization program for historic downtown and neighborhood commercial districts. It is based on a four-point approach — organization, design, promotion and economic restructuring, all within the context of historic preservation. Implemented in 1981, the program has assisted more than 140 communities throughout the state. For more information, contact Debra Farst at 512/463-5758.

View More
© Copyright 2005-2018 Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce. All rights reserved.
2516 North St., Nacogdoches, Texas 75965 (936) 560-5533
Unless otherwise noted, no part of this website may be reproduced without written permission.
Email us with questions or comments.