The Chamber History Visit Move Retire Education Medical Calendar Business Directory
Finalists announced for the 2017 Texas Downtown Association's President's Awards Program
Posted 09 - 20 - 2017


Media Contact:

Amy Mehaffey

Communications & Main Street Director



(NACOGDOCHES, TX) - Finalists for the 2017 TDA President's Awards Program were announced on Thursday, September 14 in Austin, Texas. The awards program recognizes outstanding projects, places, and people of Texas downtowns and is sponsored by the Texas Downtown Association (TDA).

The Fredonia Hotel and Convention Center is a finalist in the Best Renovation/Rehabilitation under 50,000 population category. The other finalists are the Landmark Inn State Historic Site in Castroville and M.L. Edwards & Co. in Mount Vernon.


The Fredonia Hotel has undergone several different managements and name changes in its lifetime that contribute to the ever growing history of the building. Beginning as the Hotel Fredonia in 1955, the name of the property was changed to the Sheraton Crest Inn in 1970, then the Fredonia Inn, and back to Hotel Fredonia in the 1980's.

The Fredonia closed its doors in 2013, but it was not long before the town realized that the hotel was a necessity in the community. Barbara and Richard DeWitt purchased the property in September of 2015 and began the immense task of restoring the building to its original beauty, all while respecting the historical integrity of the property and adding 21st Century amenities that travelers have come to expect. Upon its reopening in the summer of 2017, The Fredonia Hotel has become a beacon of hospitality to all of East Texas and offers five-star service to all locals and travelers who pass through the lobby doors.


One hundred and fifteen entries were submitted in twelve different categories from communities across the state. Judges reviewed entries online and then met in person to make their final selection of award finalists and winners. The panel included: Kent Collins, Centro Development; P.A. Geddie, County Line Magazine; Lois Rodriguez, Texas Highways; and Evan Thompson, Preservation Texas. 

Winners will be announced on November 8 at the President's Awards Gala held in conjunction with the 2017 Texas Downtown Conference in McKinney. 


TDA was established in 1985 to connect and serve communities that are committed to downtown vitality. The membership organization is an independent, statewide nonprofit that represents cities and towns of all sizes, economic development corporations, chambers of commerce, local organizations, small businesses, and individuals. 

For more information please contact:

Amy Mehaffey

City of Nacogdoches

Catherine Sak

Texas Downtown Association



View More
© Copyright 2005-2018 Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce. All rights reserved.
2516 North St., Nacogdoches, Texas 75965 (936) 560-5533
Unless otherwise noted, no part of this website may be reproduced without written permission.
Email us with questions or comments.