The Chamber History Visit Move Retire Education Medical Calendar Business Directory
NISD 2017 Awards and Recognition Banquet
Posted 05 - 01 - 2017

Nacogdoches ISD honored district and campus teachers of the year, as well as its 2017 retirees and the Anne K. Wallace award winner during its annual end-of-the-year awards and recognition banquet on Thursday, April 27 at 6 p.m. in the Nacogdoches County Exposition and Civic Center. The Anne K. Wallace Excellence in Teaching Award, established by the late teacher's family, presents $1,000 in recognition of an outstanding teacher dedicated to instruction and teaching. Dorothy Jackson-Tubbs from Nacogdoches High School received the honor for 2017. The district wide Elementary Teacher of the Year award was presented to Paige Benoy of Thomas J. Rusk Academy of Fine Arts, while Allison Fenton of Malcolm Rector Technical High School received Secondary Teacher of the Year honors.  Both also received teacher of the year for their respective campuses.

Other campus teachers of the year include:

Emeline Carpenter Elementary - Michael Moore

Emeline Carpenter Early Childhood Center - Denise Moore

Fredonia Elementary - Elisabeth Hutchens

Nettie Marshall Academy of Dual Language - Linda Brock

Raguet Elementary - Karen Fancher

Thomas J. Rusk Academy of Fine Arts - Paige Benoy

Mike Moses Middle School - Angela Peyton

Malcolm Rector Technical High School - Allison Fenton

DAEP/ Martin Center - Janie Leath

Nacogdoches High School - Stacy Dicks

The Rookie Teacher of the Year award program is designed to recognize outstanding, new employees who have less than twenty-four months in the classroom. These educators have made a positive impact upon students, school communities, public education, and NISD. The district Rookie Teacher of the Year award was presented to Taylor Coll of Fredonia Elementary School.

Campus rookie teacher of the year include:

Malcolm Rector Technical High School - Debbie Tanner

McMichael Middle School - Charles Semanek

Mike Moses - Robert Kimbrough

Brooks-Quinn-Jones - Kelsey Watkins

Emeline Carpenter Elementary - Brooke Taylor-Johnson

Emeline Carpenter Early Childhood Center - Tammie Colston

Fredonia - Taylor Coll

Raguet - Danielle Sarafian

Thomas J. rusk - Crystal Jinkins


Employees who received perfect attendance include:

Harold Whitaker

Koda McKeever

George Burns

Ramiro Mediola

Tina Dowell

Penny Puller

Marion Ringhausen

G.W. Scott

Patricia Johnson

Kennedy Harrell

Isabel Johnson

Rosa Berry

Rick Deward

Ozell Ward

William Adams


The district bid farewell to the following retirees (as of April 24, 2017):

Richard Chambers

Christy Clark

Leigh Ann Dixon

Tammy Harpin

Penny Holloway

Charles Hooker

Martha Lindsey

Gerrie Lockett

Kevan Webb

Susan Makatura

Kenny Martin

Darla McFarland

Mary Neal

Farshid Niroumand

Carolyn Ramsey

David Sage

Bonnie Strahan

Jerry Winfield


NISD recognized employees our community lost this school year:

Christy Wilson

Robin McClain

Johnnie Simpson

Reba Ann Fuller

Faye Rudd

Maye Florence Ham

Chris Snyder

Patsy Carroll

Vivian Williams


Department employee of the year awards include:

District Support Center - Jason Wiggins

Plant Services - Mark Spies

Law Enforcement - George Burns

Student Nutrition - Kennedy Harrell

Student Support Services - Emily Taravella

Transportation - Alford Forney


District awards included:

District Tech Savvy Award - Stacy Dicks (Nacogdoches High School)

Campus Administrator of the Year - Rebecca Lanham (Nacogdoches High School)

Dragon Community Partner of the Year - SERVPRO of Lufkin/ S. Nacogdoches County

Volunteer Organization of the Year - Rotary Club of Nacogdoches

Volunteer of the Year - Linda Blackshire (Mike Moses PTA)


The Inspire Awards honor individuals who have inspired excellence at NISD. These individuals gave courage to the people around them to take a new leap or inspired them to pursue their passions. The district inspire award recipients for 2017 are Rebecca Lanham of Nacogdoches High School, Rosalind Deckard of Brooks-Quinn-Jones, and Kayla Hughes of Student Support Services.


Other campus and department inspire award recipients include:

Malcolm Rector Technical High School - Mario Torres

Martin Center/ DAEP - Donna Harding

Nacogdoches High School - Stacy Dicks

McMichael Middle School - Martha Lindsey

Mike Moses Middle School - Darlene Whitman

Brooks-Quinn-Jones - Karen Pleasant

Emeline Carpenter Elementary - Lester Brewer

Emeline Carpenter Early Childhood Center - Roxanne Lathan

Fredonia - Burford Wallace

Nettie Marshall - Ana Lopez

Raguet - Lindsey Turner

Thomas J. Rusk - Rocio Landeros

District Support Center - Cindy Bertin

Plant Services - Mike Davis

Student Nutrition - Doris McDaniel

Student Support Services - Kayla Hughes

Transportation - Charlene Marble

Law Enforcement - Ramiro Mendiola, Carolyn Meredith, Kenny Hensley, Staci Marble, Pam Lathan, Crystal Ball


NISD would like to say a special thanks to the following for making NISD's 2017 awards and recognition banquet a success:

District Tech Savvy Award sponsor Sound Tech

Campus Administrator of the Year sponsor CBTX

Volunteer Organization of the Year sponsor Story-Wright

Dragon Community Partner of the Year sponsor University Rental

Volunteer of the Year sponsor East Texas Landscaping

Inspire Award sponsor KARCZEWSKI/BRADSHAW

Inspire Award sponsor eTech

Inspire Award sponsor Fredonia Hotel

District Rookie Teacher of the Year sponsor SPIRIT APPAREL

District Elementary Teacher of the Year and District Secondary Teacher of the Year sponsor Nacogdoches Medical Center

Master of Ceremony Steve McCarty

Texas Education Agency Address from T.E.A. Deputy Commissioner A.J. Crabill

Francis Spruiell, Rotary Volunteer

Brooks-Quinn-Jones Musicians for their musical performance

Daniel Wilder, NHS Theatre Student for his slam poetry performance

NHS Culinary Program

NHS Spanish Club

NHS Interact Club

SFA Hospitality Students

Tomé Catering

View More
© Copyright 2005-2018 Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce. All rights reserved.
2516 North St., Nacogdoches, Texas 75965 (936) 560-5533
Unless otherwise noted, no part of this website may be reproduced without written permission.
Email us with questions or comments.