The Chamber History Visit Move Retire Education Medical Calendar Business Directory
Roy O. Martin III is keynote speaker at ag appreciation banquet
Posted 03 - 24 - 2016

Roy O. Martin III of Roy O. Martin Lumber Company, pictured, will deliver the keynote presentation at the Agriculture Appreciation & Awareness Banquet produced by the Nacogdoches County Agriculture Committee. The event begins at 6 p.m., Monday, April 11 at the Nacogdoches County Exposition & Civic Center.

“We are honored to have Mr. Martin as the keynote speaker at this year’s event," said Agriculture Committee Chair Angela Shannon. "He is a powerhouse in the timber industry. He will update us on the construction of a new oriented-strand board plant in Corrigan, Texas, which will have a significant impact on the economy in Nacogdoches County and all of East Texas.”

Martin is president and CFO of Roy O. Martin Lumber Company, L.L.C., Martin Timber Company, L.L.C., and Martin Companies, L.L.C. He is a director and co-founder of Indigo Minerals, LLC, a Houston-based oil and natural gas exploration company, and Perforex Forest Services, L.L.C., a Louisiana logging company.

Born in Alexandria, Louisiana, Martin is a 1978 graduate of Bolton High School. He graduated from Louisiana State University (LSU) in 1982 after receiving a Bachelor of Science Degree in Mechanical Engineering (Tau Beta Pi). He continued his education at LSU, obtaining his MBA in 1985.

Throughout the years, Martin has volunteered his time and served in various board and chair capacities for companies and organizations such as Lions Club, United Way of Central Louisiana (Volunteer of the Year in 1995), Habitat for Humanity (Golden Hammer Award) and American Red Cross. He also served on the Louisiana Recovery Authority, Greater Alexandria Economic Development Authority (GAEDA), LSU Health Sciences Foundation, Louisiana Commission on Streamlining Government, and Workers’ Compensation Advisory Council. He and Jonathan Martin were presented with the Ernst & Young Entrepreneur of the Year Award for the Southern District in 2004.

At the banquet, the Nacogdoches County Agriculture Committee will honor the following 2016 award recipients:  Pete Smith Agriculture Pioneer of the Year - Jimmy Scott Family (Sponsored by Heritage Land Bank); Farm Family of the Year - John & Cathy Kirk Family (Sponsored by Tipton Ford Lincoln); Agribusiness of the Year - Boles Feed Nacogdoches, LLC (Sponsored by First Bank & Trust East Texas); and Ag Educator of the Year Warner Wilson (Sponsored by Citizens 1st Bank).

“Agriculture is the backbone of Nacogdoches County," Shannon said. "This annual banquet allows the community to show its gratitude the farmers, ranchers and agribusinesses that help this county thrive.”

Gary and Sue Atkins Agricultural Scholarship Awards will also be presented to Nacogdoches County students

Banquet tables and tickets are available. Contact the Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce at 936-560-5533 for details.

View More
Hot News
© Copyright 2005-2018 Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce. All rights reserved.
2516 North St., Nacogdoches, Texas 75965 (936) 560-5533
Unless otherwise noted, no part of this website may be reproduced without written permission.
Email us with questions or comments.