The Chamber History Visit Move Retire Education Medical Calendar Business Directory
Press Release! Main Street Program receives National Recognition
Posted 01 - 31 - 2014


CONTACTS: Debra Drescher, 512/463-5758

DATE: January 29, 2014, 7 p.m.




SEGUIN, Texas  Nacogdoches has been commended for successful annual progress as a designated Main Street community. The Texas Historical Commission’s (THC) Texas Main Street Program (TMSP) made the announcement this evening at the winter gathering of Texas Main Street managers in Seguin, an original 1981 Texas Main Street city.

Sixty-three designated Main Street programs in Texas were recognized. The TMSP will recommend its Texas selections for 2014 National Accreditation to the National Main Street Center, a subsidiary of the National Trust for Historic Preservation. The national announcement for all designated Main Street programs across the country will be made at the National Main Street conference in Detroit, MI May 18-20.

“National Accreditation and the recognition that goes along with it is a statement that the local Main Street program is working hard and consistently moving forward to achieve downtown revitalization goals that are grounded in historic preservation,” said Debra Drescher, TMSP state coordinator.   “Over more than 30 years, the national Main Street model – which has been in place in Texas since the inception of the nationwide effort – has been an effective way for communities of all sizes to restore and maintain vitality and economic health in their historic downtowns. We are so proud of the staff and volunteers of TexasMain Street programs who work hard every day on these objectives and so thankful to the elected officials, city management and other stakeholders who support them in their work. Accreditation recognizes that hard work and progress.”

Accredited programs show above average performance in ten categories on an annual report. Selection criteria focus on planning, partnerships, staffing, volunteer effort, preservation ethic, training and program assessment through reporting. The state office also works with programs throughout the year by providing various services based upon local needs. Nacogdoches received a perfect score this year.




For additional information about the national Main Street effort, visit the National Trust Main Street web site at  For more information on the Texas Historical Commission’s Main Street program visit

The THC’s Texas Main Street Program is a revitalization program for historic downtown and neighborhood commercial districts. It is based on a Four-Point Approach™  -- organization, design, promotion and economic restructuring -- all within the context of historic preservation. Implemented nationwide and in Texas in 1981, the Texas program has assisted approximately 165 communities throughout the state. For more information, contact Debra Farst at 512/463-5758. Or


Main Street Cities Recognized with 2014 National Accreditation


1.              Amarillo **

2.              Bastrop **

3.              Bay City

4.              Beaumont*

5.              Brenham

6.              Canton **

7.              Canyon **

8.              Carthage*

9.              Celina **

10.           Clarksville

11.           Clifton

12.           Colorado City **

13.           Corsicana **

14.           Cotulla **

15.           Denton **

16.           Electra **

17.           Elgin*

18.           Farmersville*

19.           Ferris

20.           Gainesville

21.           Georgetown

22.           Gladewater

23.           Gonzales **

24.           Grand Saline

25.           Grapevine

26.           Greenville **

27.           Harlingen

28.           Henderson

29.           Hillsboro

30.           Kilgore **

31.           La Grange **

32.           Laredo

33.           Levelland **

34.           Livingston **

35.           Llano **

36.           Longview **

37.           Lufkin **

38.           Luling

39.           McKinney **

40.           Mineola **

41.           Mount Pleasant

42.           Mount Vernon

43.           Nacogdoches **

44.           New Braunfels **

45.           Palestine

46.           Paris

47.           Pecos

48.           Rio Grande City

49.           Rockwall **

50.           Royse City

51.           San Angelo**

52.           San Augustine

53.           San Marcos*

54.           Seguin*

55.           Sonora **

56.           Taylor

57.           Texarkana

58.           Tyler**

59.           Uvalde

60.           Vernon

61.           Victoria

62.           Waxahachie**

63.           Winnsboro




* designates programs receiving accreditation recognition every year they have been eligible

* * designates programs receiving accreditation recognition 80%  - 90% of the time they have been eligible

Minimum category and overall scores are required; first-year programs oftentimes are not able to meet all requirements



View More
© Copyright 2005-2018 Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce. All rights reserved.
2516 North St., Nacogdoches, Texas 75965 (936) 560-5533
Unless otherwise noted, no part of this website may be reproduced without written permission.
Email us with questions or comments.