The Chamber History Visit Move Retire Education Medical Calendar Business Directory
Two spots up for grabs in May NISD board elections; Early voting begins Monday
Posted 04 - 26 - 2013

On Monday, Nacogdoches Independent School District voters will begin going to the polls to fill two positions on the board of trustees,


Those seeking the leadership spots include Tom Davis, Manuel G. Guerrero and current board president Almarie Henderson Shumate for the at large position.  Matt Rocco, who is not seeking another term, now fills the seat. All voters in NISD can vote for the at-large board member.


The single-member District 1 seat, whose voter pool is determined by geography, brings two new comers to the race — William Shlensky and James A. Ervin. Shumate currently holds this seat.


Early voting runs weekdays from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m., Monday, April 29 through Tuesday, May 7, at the C.L. Simon Recreation Center, 1112 North Street.

Election day is set for 7a.m. to 7 p.m. on May 11 at Thomas J. Rusk Academy of Fine Arts, 411 Mound St.


Early voting by mail also is available. The application is available on the Secretary of State’s website at; by mailing a request to Holly Anderson, early voting clerk, 420 S. Shawnee St., Nacogdoches, Texas 75961; or by emailing Anderson at

To view the sample ballots, click here and here.

View More
© Copyright 2005-2018 Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce. All rights reserved.
2516 North St., Nacogdoches, Texas 75965 (936) 560-5533
Unless otherwise noted, no part of this website may be reproduced without written permission.
Email us with questions or comments.