The Chamber History Visit Move Retire Education Medical Calendar Business Directory
Taking Agriculture Award Nominations Now
Posted 01 - 02 - 2013

Click here for nomination form.

The Nacogdoches County Ag Economic Development Committee, Nacogdoches County Farm Bureau, Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce, Nacogdoches Economic Development Corp. (NEDCO), Stephen F. Austin State University, Texas AgriLife Extension Service, Texas Forest Service, Pineywoods Resource Conservation and Development and The Texas Department of Agriculture proudly co-host:


The Twelfth Annual Nacogdoches County Agriculture Appreciation and Awareness Banquet

Tentatively scheduled for Monday, April 8, 2013, 6 p.m.


Among the special awards to be given are:

n       Farm Family of the Year Award

n       Agriculture Pioneer Award

n       Agribusiness of the Year Award

n       Agriculture Educator of the Year Award


We are asking you to nominate worthy candidates for these awards. (See past awardees listed below.)


Guide to Nominating

Depending on the award, the nominee should exhibit some or all of these characteristics:

n       Be an established company, family or individual with a record of community service and/or stimulation of the Nacogdoches County economy through agriculture or related activities.

n       Have experienced positive events this past 12 months indicating a special effort in agriculture.

n       Have a long history of activity in agriculture in Nacogdoches County.


Agriculture Appreciation and Awareness Banquet 

Awards History


Farm Family of the Year

Sponsored by:  Tipton Ford


2012 -  Forrest Lee Meador Family

2011 – Gregory Grigsby Family

2010 – Jerry Nichols Family

2009 – Eddie Melasky Family

2008 – Wayne, Worth and Wyman Jacobs  Family      

2007 – Pat and A.T. Mast, Jr. Family

2006 – Jack and Beth Foshee Family

2005 - James and Edith Dawson Family

2004 - Neil and Sandra Lowery Family

2003 - Nolan and Virginia Alders Family

2002 - Mike and Annette Engle Family


The Pete Smith Agriculture Pioneer Award

Sponsored by:  Heritage Land Bank

2012 -  Dr. James Kroll

2011 – Ray Mize

2010 -  Albert Thompson

2009 – Tim Chauvin

2008 -  Wilsie Clark

2007 – Bob Barton

2006 – Charles Bright

2005 – H.M. “Butter” Whitehead

2004 – George Rice

2003 – C.A. “Buck” Burgess

2002 – Pete Smith


Agribusiness of the Year Award

Sponsored by:  First Bank & Trust East Texas

2012 -  Bright Coop, Inc.

2011 – Carrizo Wood Products

2010 – Sam B. Hayter Trust

2009 – Nacogdoches Livestock Exchange

2008 -  Cal-Tex Lumber Co., Inc.

2007 – Animal Science Products

2006 – Fish & Still Equipment Company

             (in memory of Alan Still)

2005 – D&B Distributors, Inc.

2004 – Tyson Foods

2003 – Texas Farm Products

2002 – Pilgrim’s Pride Corporation


Agriculture Educator of the Year Award

Sponsored by: Sponsored by:  Citizens 1st BankCitizens 1st Bank

2012 -  Dr. Leon Young

2011 – Al Schmidt

2010 – Dr. Dale Perritt

2009 – John Boyette

2008 – Dr. David Creech

2007 – Larry Poe

View More
© Copyright 2005-2018 Nacogdoches County Chamber of Commerce. All rights reserved.
2516 North St., Nacogdoches, Texas 75965 (936) 560-5533
Unless otherwise noted, no part of this website may be reproduced without written permission.
Email us with questions or comments.